Outfits Inspired by Popular YA Books: The Cruel Prince

I love fashion, and I love books. I wanted to make outfits inspired by popular YA books to combine both. I’m starting off with one of my favorite series of all time, The Folk of the Air by Holly Black. I absolutely love Jude, there’re very few MCs that I love as much as her. One of my favorite types of books to read is ambitious characters actually going and getting what they want. Plus it’s fae and enemies to lovers, what more could I want.

Getting to the outfits, I am making these based on what I imagine Jude would wear, either in the fae world, or visiting the mortal realm.


Outfit 1

I’m starting off with what I imagine her wearing in the fae world on an average day, something practical and fae-like. I’m really trying to edge away from dark academia since she’s really not bookish at all.


Outfit 2 and 3

For outfits 2 and 3 I wanted to give options to mix and match these two tops and two bottoms. Trying to stray towards actually wearable outfits. Some accessories I really want to incorporate was a chain purse, black boots with buckles, sword earrings, and silver jewelry. I think the ruffly top and butterfly top both combine elements of cottage-core and fantasy. Again, I’m trying to stay away from dark academia, and stay with a fantasy/fairy theme.


Outfit 4

This is my favorite outfit. I gave two layering options, a leather bomber, and a more flowy top. I love the jewelry for this too, they all scream fantasy to me.


Outfit 5

I know I said I was straying away from dark academia, but a layered vest with either a trenchcoat or asymmetrical shawl is something I can see Jude wearing to visit the mortal realm. The gloves, boots and elf ear cuffs just complete the outfit.


Outfit 6

For the last one, I wanted something I imagine for a fae ball. The embellished fingerless gloves seemed like an accessory Jude would choose, plus the nails jewelry to hide her missing fingertip.

One response to “Outfits Inspired by Popular YA Books: The Cruel Prince”

  1. This is such an excellent post idea! I love outfits 2 and 3, I can totally see Jude in it, especially with those green tones! And that ballgown 👀👀👀 Fantastic post! Can’t wait to see your next match-ups 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started